Graham Elendu, John Aggrey, Saykwayee Harmony Henry, Nasir Saidu, Ibiye Briggs were among those who made the list of the the 2nd assembly of Democracy Africa Youth Parliament.

Graham Elendu ( Nigeria) John Aggrey ( Ghana) Miss saykwayee Harmony Henry from (Liberia), Mr Nasir Saidu ( Nigeria) Miss Ibiye Briggs ( Nigeria) Sammy kamula ( kenya ) were among youths across Africa that made it to the the 2nd assembly of the Save Democracy Africa Youth Parliament.

The save Democracy Africa Youth Parliament is a 120-member Youth parliament established in 2016 in line with the provisions of the African Youth Charter (Banjul Declaration) of July 2006, which serves as the continental framework that underlines the rights, duties and freedom of the African youths.

Graham Elendu

The Inauguration of members of the second assembly of the Democracy Africa Youth Parliament held at Conference Hall A, Nigeria Army Resource Centre, Mambilla Barracks Gate, Asokoro, FCT, Abuja on Tuesday 14th March 2019.

Miss Saykwayee Harmony Henry from Liberia and Mr John Aggrey of Ghana contested for the position of speaker which John Aggrey won with two votes.

Mr Nasir Saidu won as leader of the house and Miss Ibiye Briggs is the clerk of the 2nd assembly The Africa Youth Parliament which is expected to serve as a youth think thanks to the African Union has youths drawn from the 54 member countries of the African Union.

Also amongst the people that made the list are Engr Chidi Okekeozor, Mr Nasir Lawal, Mr Augustine Igweshi, Miss Hannat Alasa, Queen-Blessing Agu, Akan James, Afo Afo , okolo Anthony, Nasir lawal, Savior Okimasi, Ibrahim Sagagi, Chidera Ohiri and more made the list too.

Speaking at the event, the Director General, Save Democracy Africa, SDA, Dr. Ifedi Okwenna explained that the reason for instituting the Democracy Africa Youth Parliament is to bring together, youths of the Africa continent to build and develop skills for parliamentary leadership and governance.

“We felt that the destiny of this continent should be in the hands of the youths and since then, it has been a torturous journey. “The experience we garnered over these years has not only been very phenomenal and intriguing, it has also been very challenging” he said.

Some Members of the Save Democracy Africa Youth Parliament [2nd Assembly]

During the inauguration, the guest speaker who is the Chancellor and the founder of one of Africa’s fastest growing private university- Gregory University Uturu, in Abia State, Professor Gregory Ibe challenged the young parliamentarians to fight for power in their various countries to help save the continent from bad leadership.

According to him, Africa has suffered enough from recycled leaders who have run the continent aground despite the huge potentials that abound in the continent.

One of the newly inaugurated Graham Elendu while speaking to news men, had this to say “It is actually a mixed feeling,i see it as a huge burden of responsibility and at the same time, I feel elated to be amongst the few trusted enough to be given such huge responsibility”.

Parliamentarians at the Democracy Africa Youth Parliament have the privilege of being members of the UN Youth Assembly, where they join the global network of youth taking action to solve some of the world’s most pressing issues.

Congratulations to them !


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *